18 C
Sunday, October 1, 2023
HomeSports2023 WWC: Four countries qualify for quarter-final

2023 WWC: Four countries qualify for quarter-final


Related stories

Nigeria’s Sports Minister Declares 2023 SWAN Convention Open

By Goodluck Ikiebe As the 7th edition of the National...

EPL: ‘He’s on my mind’ – Pochettino confirms player to play Chelsea, Fulham game

Chelsea boss, Mauricio Pochettino, has stated that Cole Palmer...

EPL: ‘You are overplaying him’ – Mikael Silvestre urges Arsenal manager to rest forward

Former Arsenal defender, Mikael Silvestre, has urged the club’s...

‘Joshua punches like Mike Tyson’

Whilst many have accused Anthony Joshua of holding back...

At least four countries have qualified for the quarter-final of the ongoing 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup taking place in New Zealand and Australia.

The four countries are the Netherlands, Sweden, Spain and Japan.

The Netherlands and Sweden were the latest countries to book their places in the quarter-final stage after beating South Africa and the United States, respectively, on Sunday.

This comes following the conclusion of Sunday’s Round of 16 fixtures.

According to reports, the Netherlands defeated South Africa 2-0, while Sweden won against the United States via a penalty shootout after the match ended in a 0-0 draw after 120 minutes.

Spain and Japan had since booked their places in the last-8 on Saturday.

The Round of 16 fixtures will continue on Monday.

Nigeria will take on England, while Australia will clash with Denmark.

Global News Network Correspondent
Global News Network Correspondenthttps://globalnewsnetwork.com.ng
GNN is a News blog based in Nigeria to educate, inform and Analyse issues of interest like Politics, Health, Solid Minerals, Energy and Power, Transportation, Defence and Security, Sports and Entertainment to our teeming audience. Stories are generated by seasoned veteran Editors and Journalists. We Say It As It Is.

Latest stories



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here