18.2 C
Sunday, July 21, 2024
HomePoliticsOmotoso, 36 others make Sanwo-Olu confirmed nominees’ list

Omotoso, 36 others make Sanwo-Olu confirmed nominees’ list


Related stories

Nigerian Senate Replaces Ndume With Monguno As Chief Whip

By Daniel Peters The Nigerian Senate on Wednesday replaced the...

Trump Picks 39 Years Old Ohio Senator As Running Mate

By Goodluck Ikiebe Donald Trump and Senator Vance Former President Donald...

UK 2024 Elections : Six Nigerians Elected into Parliament & Their Parties

By Goodluck Ikiebe Some candidates of Nigerian-descent contested for seats...

Edo Guber Race: Abuja High Court Invalidates Primaries Over Non Compliance With Electoral Act

By Goodluck Ikiebe Asue Ighodalo A Federal High Court Abuja has...

The Lagos State House of Assembly, on Thursday, confirmed 15 out of the second list of 18 nominees sent by Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu for ratification and confirmation.

This brings the number of the governor’s proposed cabinet members confirmed by the House to 37.

Among the newly confirmed cabinet members-designates are the immediate-past Commissioners for Health, Information, and Strategy, Professor Akin Abayomi and Mr Gbenga Omotoso, respectively, who were rejected by the Assembly during the first screening.

Among those rejected on Thursday was former Commissioner for Economic Planning and Budget, Sam Egube, who was also rejected in the first list presented by the governor.

Also, former Commissioner for Energy, Engr. Olalere Odusote was rejected for the second time by the Assembly.

However, the House resolved to step down the confirmation of a new nominee, Tolani Akibu.

The PUNCH reported that Sanwo-Olu sent the first list of his proposed cabinet members to the Assembly on July 28.

The Assembly, after screening the nominees for four days, confirmed 22 out of the 39 names sent by the governor, rejecting 17.

This led to speculations that all was not well between the Speaker of the House, Mudashiru Obasa, and the governor.

The PUNCH reported that members of the Governance Advisory Council, the apex leadership body of the All Progressives Congress in Lagos, waded into the matter and asked the governor and the Speaker to look for ways to settle their differences.

After the meeting with the GAC, Sanwo-Olu on Monday sent another list of 18 nominees containing 12 of the 17 earlier rejected and six new ones to the Assembly. Obasa referred the new nominees to the Fatai Mojeed-led ad hoc committee that screened the first batch to report back on Thursday, September 7.

With Thursday’s confirmation of 15 out of 18 by the Assembly, the 37 confirmed cabinet members designate are Mr. Layode Ibrahim, Mr. Mobolaji Ogunlende, Dr. Dolapo Fasawe, Bola Olumegbon, Mr. Idris Aregbe, Ms. Abisola Olusanya, Mr. Moruf Fatai, Mr. Kayode Bolaji-Roberts, Engr. Abiola Olowu, Mrs. Toke Benson-Awoyinka, Dr. Oreoluwa Finnih-Awokoya, Mr. Yakub Alebiosu, Mr. Lawal Pedro SAN, and Mr. Tunbosun Alake.

Others are Mr Gbenga Oyerinde, Dr Adekunle Olayinka, Dr Jide Babatunde, Mr Afolabi Ayantayo, Mr Tokunbo Wahab, Mr Olakunle Rotimi-Akodu, Mr Jamiu Alli-Balogun, Mr Abdulkabir Ogungbo, Dr Afolabi Tajudeen, Mr Oluwaseun Osiyemi, and Prof Akin Abayomi.

Others include Dr. Oluwarotimi Fashola, Mrs. Folashade Ambrose-Medem, Mrs. Akinyemi Ajigbotafe, Mrs. Bolaji Dada, Mrs. Barakat Bakare, Mr. Olugbenga Omotoso, Mr. Mosopefoluwa George, Dr. Yekini Agbaje, Dr Olumide Oluyinka, Mr Abayomi Oluyomi, Dr Iyabode Ayoola, and Sola Giwa.

Global News Network Correspondent
Global News Network Correspondenthttps://globalnewsnetwork.com.ng
GNN is a News blog based in Nigeria to educate, inform and Analyse issues of interest like Politics, Health, Solid Minerals, Energy and Power, Transportation, Defence and Security, Sports and Entertainment to our teeming audience. Stories are generated by seasoned veteran Editors and Journalists. We Say It As It Is.

Latest stories



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here