17.6 C
Sunday, July 21, 2024
HomePoliticsBreaking: Akpabio becomes Nigeria's new Senate President

Breaking: Akpabio becomes Nigeria’s new Senate President


Related stories

Nigerian Senate Replaces Ndume With Monguno As Chief Whip

By Daniel Peters The Nigerian Senate on Wednesday replaced the...

Trump Picks 39 Years Old Ohio Senator As Running Mate

By Goodluck Ikiebe Donald Trump and Senator Vance Former President Donald...

UK 2024 Elections : Six Nigerians Elected into Parliament & Their Parties

By Goodluck Ikiebe Some candidates of Nigerian-descent contested for seats...

Edo Guber Race: Abuja High Court Invalidates Primaries Over Non Compliance With Electoral Act

By Goodluck Ikiebe Asue Ighodalo A Federal High Court Abuja has...

Godswill Akpabio, a former Niger Delta minister and governor of Akwa Ibom State, has been elected as the 10th Senate President of the National Assembly.

Abdulaziz Yari was defeated by Akpabio, the All Progressives Congress’s chosen candidate, to succeed Ahmed Lawan.

On the Senate floor on Tuesday, senators-elect overwhelmingly supported Akpabio.

The former Governor of Akwa Ibom served as a Minister for Niger Delta Affairs from 2019 to 2022.

He represents Akwa Ibom North-West Senatorial zone.

More to come…

Global News Network Correspondent
Global News Network Correspondenthttps://globalnewsnetwork.com.ng
GNN is a News blog based in Nigeria to educate, inform and Analyse issues of interest like Politics, Health, Solid Minerals, Energy and Power, Transportation, Defence and Security, Sports and Entertainment to our teeming audience. Stories are generated by seasoned veteran Editors and Journalists. We Say It As It Is.

Latest stories



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here