8.2 C
Friday, February 23, 2024
HomeFeaturesNigeria's Ruling Party National Working Committee Begins Screening of Aspirants For Edo...

Nigeria’s Ruling Party National Working Committee Begins Screening of Aspirants For Edo Guber Poll


Related stories


By Our Correspondent

About 45,000 members of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in Edo state captured in the party’s register and armed with their membership slips will vote to elect the party’s governorship candidate at the primary election scheduled to hold on February 17, 2024.

Thousands of other members who have yet to be captured in the party’s membership register should be ready to vote for the party’s candidate in the September 21, 2024 poll.

There are fears that many of the members who had misplaced their slips may not be able to vote during the exercise.

The party is going ahead to employ the Direct Primary Election mode of voting to determine its Governorship standard bearer.

The voting process will take place simultaneously in the 18 local government areas of the state, to wit: the seven local government areas in Edo South, six local government areas in Edo North and five local government areas in Edo central.

Four Aspirants are from Edo South, namely Pastor Osagie Ize-Iyamu, General Charles Airhiavbere, Chief Lucky Imasuen and Hon Dennis Idahosa; while from Edo North are Prince Clem Ikanade Agba, Dr Ernest Afolabi Umakhihe and Hon Sunday Anamero Dekeri, and Dr Blessing Agbomhere.

Aspirants from Edo Central, include among others, Senator Monday Okpebholo and Dr David Imuse.

NWC sets up screening, screening appeal committees, begins exercise today, (Thursday)

Meanwhile, the National Working Committee (NWC) of the party will today, Thursday, begin the screening of the governorship aspirants in Abuja.

The screening is consequent upon the setting up of relevant committees to undertake the process.

The NWC has set up a seven-man Screening Committee under the Chairmanship of Professor Taoheed Abdul Adedoja. Members of the committee are Senator Ibrahim
Oloriegbe, Hon Adeoye Adelakun, Prince Darlington Dick, Lawal Abdullahi Kenken, Margaret Duru and Dr Sani Danjuma (secretary).

A statement by the National Organising Secretary of the party, HE Sulaiman Muhammad Argungu, also announced the setting up of a Screening Appeal Committee under the chair of Senator Ibrahim Danbaba.

The five-member committee comprises the following members Hon Bisi Odewunmi, Ngozi Ononiwu, Hon Abubakar Sidiq and Barrister Smart Iheazor (secretary).

The release reads in part: “This is to inform nominated members of the Edo State National Gubernatorial Aspirants Screening Committee and Screening Appeal Committee that the inauguration of the two committees will hold on Thursday, 8th February, 2024 at the National Working Committee Hall in the Party’s National Headquarters, No. 40 Blantyre Street, Wuse 2, Abuja. Time is 12 noon prompt… All nominated members are expected to be seated by 11.30 am.”

Global News Network Correspondent
Global News Network Correspondenthttps://globalnewsnetwork.com.ng
GNN is a News blog based in Nigeria to educate, inform and Analyse issues of interest like Politics, Health, Solid Minerals, Energy and Power, Transportation, Defence and Security, Sports and Entertainment to our teeming audience. Stories are generated by seasoned veteran Editors and Journalists. We Say It As It Is.

Latest stories



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here